Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to an increase in the number of areas in which the government should invest and support. While a proportion of people maintain that the governors ought to spend money on arts, I hold a different view, believing that the athletics including state-sponsored Olympic teams deserve more support from the government. This essay will explore a couple of reasons supporting my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, owing to the higher popularity of athletics among young people, government supports of them can lead the youngsters to take the sportsmen as their role models. This approach has several noteworthy impacts on people including their improved will to exercise to a larger extent in an attempt to change into stronger, healthier individuals such as their mentors. For instance, my brother is extremely into soccer and somehow worships his favorite soccer player. Consequently, he always follows that person's pieces of advice about the outstanding effects of a healthy lifestyle entailing regular exercise and a healthy diet. Therefore, my brother goes to the gym every day to build a body suitable for becoming a successful soccer player. This new attitude helped him in contrasting aspects of his life from his physical health to mental and even intellectual development. Since he began to do sports at an early age, he could lead a high-level personality and a more mature outlook towards life.

Secondly, virtually all the people around the world appreciate Olympic teams and watch their competitions resulting in a higher rate of acquaintance with the countries of the teams. Hence, there is a vast and beneficial opportunity for governments to exploit the media of other countries to advertise for their own culture and attract a large number of tourists. I assume an example can shed light on this notion. A couple of years ago, an exceptionally significant Persian animal was in danger of extinction. Thus, the national volleyball team members decided to put a picture of that animal on their T-shirts in the world championship to send this substantial message to the rest of the world. As the volleyball matches are immensely popular among people in every corner of the globe, a plethora of people who were interested in the environmental issues made a massive influx to the country and created a considerable income source from tourist attraction for Iran. This happened owing to the world sought-after entity of the sports.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons and example into account, I believe that athletics merits a larger quantity of supports and investments from the governments compared to the arts. Not only will sports inspire and encourage young people to choose a healthier lifestyle, but it also will help the country with a higher tourist attraction due to the high popularity of the athletics all around the world.