Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most of the people agree that artistic masterpieces and sport achievements, both play a vital role in a national identity of a country. Although I believe that both of these fields worth an immense attention from government, art and artists might need a greater support from authorities. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

The first reason that is significant is that while some people are of the opinion that athletes should receive greater attention, they already have enough allowance. It goes without saying that everyone is aware of sports incomes and investing on them would be a profitable investment with least percentage of risk. As a result, there are a lot of private investors who readily support sports team and individual athletes financially. On the other hand, artists and their crafts value have always been underestimated. I strongly believe that artists at my country don’t get the attention that they deserve, though they have produced great and worldwide known masterpieces. Unfortunately, in my country, people who choose art as their future major should get themselves prepared for being neglected and this ignorance is not only from the government but also from other people and investors. They just don’t believe that art is worth the investing and it’s a waste of money. In situations like this, I believe that it’s government duty to back up artists and bring people’s faith back to the art of their country.

Another major reason is that although a win in a sport match can help a country in different ways and make the country a global champion, an art masterpiece can make others familiar with the country and its culture. To be more specific, an art craft like a painting or a sculpture or even a movie can tell a lot about the country they were made in and their impacts can remain as a history sign of that country. Greece is a compelling instance of that. There are evidences that the Olympic competitions have originated in ancient Greece, however people barely talk about or know about the winners , but Greece ancient palaces and statues and art crafts on whole, tell us so many thing about the people who used to live there at that time and about the customs and traditions they had. As a result, I am of the opinion that the influence of art on a country is more profound and long lasting than a sport achievement, therefore it is worth more attention.

In conclusion, the both fields have their own importance and none of them deserve neglect specially from the government, however art would tell much about a country and it would be right to be prioritized.