Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, and not enough time

on more serious duties and obligations.” Use details and examples to support

your answer

As world continues to develop, people get more overwhelmed by the tasks they must do at their work, Personally, I believe today people dedicate less time to enjoy themselves than any other time. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

The most significant reason is that will in a competitive world and it gets more intense every day. In a world like this, people have to halt any other thing and concentrate their whole effort and time on their job to prove themselves and get promoted. Unfortunately, if we want to catch up with the rapid pace of other’s progress, there will be no other choice rather than a hectic life style. In the past there were only a few expert people who could accomplish a specific task, but nowadays there are myriad of people with the same proficient who can do the same task. Thereby, people have to keep learning and coming across with creative idea to stand out others. The whole learning and competition process bring benefits to the businesses but almost ruin personal lives.

Moreover, in the past people had different priorities and their goal were too different. In the past people used to work to be capable of raising a family and meeting their needs. On the other hand, today people set their goals in their careers and they merely focus on that. Starting a family and spending time with them comes after achieving what people set out to. My brother is a compelling example of this. He started his occupation as a fresh engineer. It took him several years to learn all the aspects of his job, and after that he put all his effort to show his abilities to his manager. Finally he got promoted and now his the CEO of their company, but all this process prolonged for about 10 years. After all these years he is still inundated by his job duties in a way that he barely thinks of marriage.

In conclusion, life has never gotten easier and the cost of these recent years progress, is the change of targets and less time to spare for people.