Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment, and not enough time on more serious duties and obligations. Use details and examples to support your answer.

In this modern era, life requirements are become more difficult forcing people to work more than old days. For this reason, I totally agree that people are spending less time enjoying their life. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay.

First of all, nowadays employees can complete their work from home. Since the internet was invented and computers are created, people can access their work easily and finish it anywhere and anytime. Thus, they will spend more time working and their pleasure time will be less. Studies show that thanks to computers and cell phones employees spend more time fulfilling their duty obligation outside their workplace. This is best demonstrated by my personal example. Currently, I am working at an investment firm where my duty starts at 9 o'clock and ends at 5 o'clock. Even when my work time is finished I am usually forced to complete unfinished work at my home. Consequently, I have less time to do enjoyable activities with my friends and family. Moreover, everyone in my company does the same in order to get more money. As a result, our time is occupied with more work than having enjoyment in life. I am sure that if I do not feel more obligated to do my work I will spend more time in entertainment activities.

Second, the free time for delighting is used for personal development. In particular, instead of going to the park to spend time in lovely nature, we go walking and running to become stronger and healthier in order to face and overcome challenges in work. Hence, our pastimes are dedicated to development rather than having fun. For instance, I often go to the gym three times per week in my free time to build my body and become fitter and mentally strong to resist pressure and anxiety during my work day. So, by doing this my pleasure time is less. I believe that if I do not have to develop a new strategy to stand against work stress I would have more fun and happy times in my life.

In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that at this time people are not working hard, instead, they have more fun in their lives. I believe this way because worker usually spends their time off at home completing unfinished tasks. Also, they invest their time off for personal development.