Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? 1. Interrupt and correct the mistake right away; 2. Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader; 3. Say nothing.

In classrooms or meetings, people often make mistakes about the topic they are discussing. When this happens, different people respond differently. Some say that whenever the teacher or meeting leader says something incorrect, people should interrupt and correct the mistake right away. Others prefer to wait until the class or meeting is over and everyone's gone to correct the mistake. Still, some others believe that we should say nothing about it. Personally, I would wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader because it shows respect to the teacher and meeting leader, prevents the lecturer from being offended and makes the teacher or meeting leader better understand his or her mistake.

Firstly, in a meeting or class, when the speaker makes a mistake and somebody directly interrupts the class and corrects the mistake instantly, it usually makes the teacher feel bad and disrespected because the flow of the class is suddenly interrupted. However, if one were to ask the question at the end, the speaker would feel better because the question stated did not come very abrupt. For instance, in my history class, my professor John Smith made a mistake about what was going on for the emperor in Japan during the second World War; and I seemed to be the only person to realize that mistake. Instead of standing up and addressing it immediately, I waited until the lecture was over. After everybody had left, I approached my professor and informed him about my question. When he realized what he had done, he thanked me no just for correcting him but for asking the question after the class was over. From that moment, I learned that it is best to correct a mistake after the class when everybody is gone. Obviously, notifying the mistakes people make during a lecture afterwards is a way of political behaviour to win people’s favour.

Secondly, after a teacher or meeting leader makes a mistake, he or she may interpret that whoever corrects it sincerely wants to learn more, but that correcting behaviour during the class or speaking process can still be viewed as an offensive movement. For example, my friend Bob has a tendency to shout out answers and the mistakes the teacher has made. One time, in our literacy class, our professor said something wrong about the play Hamlet. Most of the class realized the mistake quickly, but Bob was the only person to stand up and speak out the mistake abruptly. When our professor realized what Bob had said, he felt offended and gave Bob a “F” for the course. This example illustrates that pointing out a error of someone in public can offend the person easily, and it is not a best practice in our social activities.

Last but not least, if somebody interrupts the speech and points out a mistake, the professor or meeting leader will not comprehend thoroughly about the mistake all at once, because thinking over it can waste their time of teaching. As a result, they tend to continue with their lesson, ignoring what the student says about their mistake. However, if a student were to address the mistake after class, then the outcome would be different. This incident happened to me during one biology class. My teacher was explaining something about basic life form in that time, but she made a crucial mistake that virus is a living thing. When my classmates shouted out the mistake, she told them to be quiet and she would figure out after the class. But she never gets back to us. Therefore, if people were to hold the question until class ends, the mistake might be discussed in depth and addressed appropriately.

Mistakes happen all the time. Sometimes, when people try to point out them, the way they express their concern matters a lot. I believe that when the situation of a mistake occurs, it is best to wait until the meeting is over and then ask, because it shows respect to the teacher and meeting leader, prevents the lecturer from being offended and will better guide the speaker to understand the mistake.