Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Development of technology has led to an increase in job opportunities and has provided jobholders with various options for their working hours. While a proportion of people maintain that working for three days with extended hours is more enjoyable, I hold a different view, believing that more working days with shorter hours is more profitable for people. This essay will explore a couple of reasons supporting my perspective in the following paragraphs.

First of all, spending an extremely long time in the workplace can be significantly tedious and exhaust the employees; thus, they may need long hours to rest, which can counter the noteworthy effects of more holidays. To put it in other words, long hours of working is substantially energy-consuming. Therefore, workers require spending a large quantity of time to regain the energy they need to accomplish their tasks. This enormous amount of energy could be recharged by allocating more time in comparison with people who work for standard working hours. Hence, they may be expected to put aside a large amount of their holiday to balance their energy, which means that they actually will not have as many off days as they assume at the first place. In fact, they need to rest to a larger extent on their weekends. On the contrary, when people work for fewer hours, they can save a considerable amount of energy to do their personal tasks and have a rest before the new strenuous day. Thus, they can survive more simply during the week and have the chance to take the most advantage of their weekend.

Secondly, being absent for a couple of days, people may forget the details of the tasks they have performed resulting in lower productivity and performance. In other words, employees usually try to carry out a piece of work in their workplace, then leave it behind and proceed to have their holiday. After they return to their offices, they may not be able to remember everything; thus, they need time to focus and examine the contrasting aspects of their task. This procedure may take long hours, which in turn can affect the amount of work that an employee is able to accomplish. This approach can lead to serious poor outcomes for the employee and the entire company. Besides, the sense of poor performance and not being persuasively productive can influence the overall happiness and self-gratitude of the employees. Accordingly, they may easily lose their motivation and inspiration to work more competently and provide more effective and outstanding pieces of work.

On the whole, taking all the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I believe that more working days with shorter hours have several benefits compared to fewer working days with longer hours. Not only will this approach help employees to become less exhausted during the week, but it also can help them to be more productive and exhibit a remarkable performance.