The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

It is human nature to seek for comfort and convenience, and this craving for comfort has resulted in invention of various techniques and technologies that can help us remain in comfort zone. However, the provision of luxuries and conveniences has made us highly dependent and weak individuals in many ways.

Firstly, for any one to grow as a strong being it is necessary to face struggle, which teaches us various ways to cope up with difficult situations. Most of the well-renowned personalities in this twenty-first century have faced one or the other predicaments in their early age, that helped them growing as a strong and successful personality. Dr. Abdul Kalam, famous president of India, for instance, was born in a poor fisherman’s family; he had to struggle hard to join hands to mouth. There were no any luxuries and conveniences that he could tap into to make his life easier. But, the same struggle made him a strong man; he developed strength to face difficult situation bravely, that made him capable to be the head of one of the largest nation (president of India) and one of the well-renowned scientists of his era. However, as of now, even a poor family in nook and corner of the world possesses a phone and television in their home. Children don’t have to struggle too hard for getting education. Consequently, they cannot learn lessons of struggle that makes it unlikely for them to grow as a strong being.

Even for the richer part of population of the world, luxuries and conveniences have made them unlikely to grow up as a strong being. In my grandfather’s period, for instance, there were no vehicles-let alone sophisticated cars as of now- to move from one place to another even for richer population of country, and taking a long day walk, he reminisces, would help them to know about different places, and also help them come to terms with hardship that poorer population were bearing. The hardship of talking a long walk, he says, was alone a great lesson for them, that made them resilient to small troubles during other times. But we have access to vehicle at our arms length and have never borne the brunt of walking a full-day journey, that makes us vulnerable to trivial problems that we face in our life.

Similarly, as these technologies have made our lives so easier, we are becoming more and more dependent on them and cannot live a single day without these luxuries at our arms length. Our grandfather, for instance, passed almost half of their age without electricity, phones or televisions. I, however, cannot imagine a single day without these facilities.

So, though luxuries and conveniences have made our life easier to a great extent, they have disabled us to grow as a strong and independent human beings.