In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Given the effectiveness of safety measure adopted in Butler country, it may be very tempting for Prunty County to abandon its own “failed effort”, and embrace those of Butler’s. However, the claim made by the argument that those measures would be equally effective in Butler’s county seems to be self-proclaimed, rather than predicated on any distinct evidence.

Firstly, the argument claims that driving down speed limit from 55 to 45 miles has failed to assuage number of causalities in the county. However, it doesn’t mention whether measure itself has failed or its implementation has failed. Given the report by highway patrol, it seems likely that rather than measure itself, its implementation must have been ineffective. So, it better for county to analyse the effectiveness of decreasing speed limit by making the rule more stringent, so that all the drivers would follow it. Only if after effective implementation, the accident number still shows no sign of going down, then county should take into consideration other measures of road safety.

In addition, the argument also suggests Prunty County to take other effective measures: increasing lane width, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility, to reduce road causalities. However, it doesn’t take into consideration the present condition of Prunty County. Who knows Prunty County may already have these infrastructures beforehand? Or, the economic condition of Prunty County may be so ailing that it couldn’t afford to make these refurbishments (due to which it could have opted for economically viable option of reducing speed limit). So, it is mandatory to collect information on present status of these infrastructures and economic condition of County.

Even if, the economic condition of both counties might be same and infrastructures in Prunty County needed refurbishments, we cannot confidently say if these improvements would reduce the number of road casualties, because the cause of road accidents in the county may be totally unrelated to these infrastructures. For instance, if driver’s unwillingness to follow traffic rules in the County may have been causing ever-growing number of road accidents there, then any amount of improvement in infrastructure would prove ineffective. So, it would be better to first point out the major cause of accidents and then only act accordingly.

Finally, though it may be effective to adopt measures taken by Butler County to ameliorate the condition of road accidents in Prunty County, one cannot assert blithely that these measures would be effective there. It is better to amass evidences to bolster assumptions made in the argument and only move forward if these evidences buttress the assumptions effectively.