Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Given the circumstances, it seems very plausible to expand coverage of weather and local news in order to avoid losing audiences and revenue for news program. However, this seems to be based on the assumptions that are mostly self-proclaimed rather than predicated on rational reasoning, which creates doubt on the success of this future plan.

Firstly, the argument mentions that many complaints from the viewers are “concerned with station’s coverage of weather and local news”; nowhere does it mention that those complaints were related to quantity of local news and weather news broadcasted by the channel. It might be possible that costumers were dissatisfied with quality of weather program and local news shown in the television; most of the weather prediction made might have proved wrong or the channel might have broadcasted local news that were not in alignment with general sentiment of public. Had these causes been the part of complaints of locals, it would be a futile attempt to rise up the coverage of weather and local news.

Similarly, the argument also mentions that local business that used to advertise on late-night news program have stopped doing so after the television dwindled amount of local news and weather coverage. But, the argument doesn’t provide any concrete evidence to corroborate this assumption. It might have been that, the local business, always hungry for wider coverage, found next source that would have provided them with a very broad audience, or there might have been several faults (not related to local news or weather news) such as timing, quality or anything made by television itself while broadcasting advertisement, that would have dissuaded local business. Had these been the faults of TV, would it bring any major changes in amount of revenue after increasing the coverage of local news and weather news?

In the same way, the argument claims that plunge in revenue and audience was majorly due to lack of coverage of weather and local news in late-night broadcast, but it is planning to increase coverage of these in all news program. This discrepancy in cause of a problem and its potential solution might invite detrimental consequences to TV channel. There might have been many day-program that were preferred by the audience (more than local news or weather coverage), and if the TV channel removes them to fit expansion of its coverage, it might put away majority of audience, who liked those day-program. So, it is better to take costumer survey to know the extent of expansion of local news and weather coverage.

Finally, though from bird-eye view it may seem plausible to expand coverage of local news and weather to increase revenue and audience, myriads of assumption lurking behind the decision can easily create doubt on its success. So, it is better to carry out proper study to verify the rationality of these assumptions, and then only take then required action.