On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Given the evidence from Seaville, the neighbouring island, it may seem plausible that reducing number of mopeds in Balmer will reduce number of accidents in the city. Nonetheless, the above argument is based on many vague assumptions, not corroborated by any tangible facts that make the conclusion very much arguable.

Firstly, the above statement assumes that increasing number of causalities in summer is due to rise in number of mopeds in the town. However, the argument doesn’t provide any concrete evidence to bolster the assertion. The increasing in number of accidents from moped may be due to non-moped factors such as ailing road condition, or may be due to lack of awareness among pedestrian about traffic rules of the city. Had these been real factors to move up the number of casualties, decreasing number of mopeds alone would not have any significant effect on reducing the number of accidents.

Secondly, the argument also assumes that in Seaville, the neighboring island, number of moped related accident dwindled after introducing the law to reduce number of rented moped. Even if the increase in number of accidents was due to increasing number of moped, one cannot plainly assure that decrease in number of moped will have same effect (decrease in accidents) in Balmer as it was in Seavile, because road condition, driving adeptness of drivers in two cities and other factors may differ between two cities. So, how can we solely come up to the conclusion that the given solution can have similar effects on two cities without taking into account other affecting factors? Obviously not.

Similarly, the argument also mentions exact number of vehicles (25 to 50) that should be decreased in the city to bring down the number of moped-related accidents. But, it doesn’t provide any study or findings that cogently support this facts; it just seems that the author has made a rough conjecture without predicating the conclusion on anything. So, it would be best if the argument mentions any facts or studies that might support this claim.

Finally, although it may seem worthy to pass the policy that would effectively dwindle the number of rented moped in the city to bring down number of casualties, the facts that seem to support this argument doesn’t seem to be have been based on any tangible facts or study. So, it would be best for the council to evaluate these assumptions through detailed studies and then only promulgate an effective decision.