Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Leaders of in any society are chosen to run the society well and take those decisions that are beneficial to people in it. As, in most of the democratic society leaders are chosen by people, it may be tempting to give sole power to leaders to take decision for their country, but this might bring pernicious consequences, especially when leaders are not well-equipped, or are biased to a particular group of people.

When the government officials are not well- equipped to run a country, they might take decisions solely based on whim, rather than predicating it on any rational reasoning. There are many examples in the history where the government officials have taken decisions without inquiring its general public, and have brought a worst consequence for their country. In Venezuela, for instance, Juan Guiado an opposition party member appointed himself as a president citing- without concrete evidence- Nicholas Maduro, the current president, as a leader chosen by a biased election. There was no public involved in this decision, but these activities of major leaders of the country has thrown the country into chaos; inflation is all time high, crime rates are increasing, and there is no any hint of subsiding of this chaotic situation. Had the decision of resolving the issue been given to public rather than appointing oneself as a leader, they would have provided a more peaceful solution to the problem.

Secondly, the decision of leaders of a country may be fully biased while taking decision that may benefit one group of people while disregarding- sometimes even harming- the other group. Several times in different government, for instance, the officials form policy in such a way that richer population get to escape tax through some loopholes created by the policy while the poorer population are forced to pay taxes. This has widened the gap between rich and poor at a dramatic rate all over the world. Oxfam International, for example, has reported that the disparity between rich and poor is so high that half of the world’s wealth is accumulated among the 41 richest people in the planet. Though leaders might take such decisions citing some inherent benefit but in fact most of them act out of bias.

The proponent of the argument, however, might claim that leaders of the society are chosen by people and they best represent the sentiment of people. So, a decision taken by they reflect the decisions that people actually want. However, have we not seen many such instances where leaders betray their words after ascending into power? Of course, we have. So, it is always judicious to consult general population before taking any decision who always provide decision that are best for the country and for themselves.