Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The author of the argument has posited that governing bodies should have the liberty to take decisions by themselves, neglecting the will of the people whom they are assigned to serve. At first glace the argument might seem convincing as it renders power to government bodies to exercise the authority given to them. But a deeper analysis will depict the lucid picture of the outcomes of this theory.

Undoubtedly, it the sole responsibility of the government official to maintain the law and order situation. But along with that it is also the duty of the public servants to ensure that they listen to hoi polloi and address their problems. Unarguably, its is impossible for find the solution to a problem without actually knowing the problem. And who would be better else than the populace, who themselves are encountering challenges, to describe the problems. In my opinion, perhaps, the government officials should arrange the public meets to get a better glimpse of the public issues and frame the policies accordingly. Consider for example, the pressing issue of deteriorating air quality of the national capital Delhi. Instead of imposing the schemes to ban the use of fire crackers and burning stubble in neighboring states, the government has initiated a scheme to educate people and share their feed with the environmental experts to curb the city pollution. This policy not only got the praise from the populace but it has also made them a part of the initiative itself.

In addition to that, it is the right of the people to give their opinions on the matter related to themselves. Although it a general belief that it is the privilege of the powerful people to speak and the lot of the powerless to listen. The beauty of the democracy is that it obliges the powerful to listen. Consider, for instance, the recent demand of the people to administration for passing the law pertaining to right to information. Though the government was reluctant to pass any such law, but the demonstration by the people forced them to fame a law which oblige populace with the right to information.

On the contrary to that, since a country might have diverse range of population, religion, culture and class, under some circumstances it could be difficult to find consensus. In those cases, it is obligatory of the administrative officers to take decision in the welfare of the populace. Asking for people’s consent at such juncture might exacerbate the problem.

To sum up, it depends on the situation, if would be prudent to seek the advice of the people. So, a piece meal approach will be the better solution to deal with such situation, if any.