The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe."A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note,

In the application, the developer makes a strong proposal that the demand for a jazz club in Monroe is very great in the present and investing a jazz club business will bring a huge amount of profit in the future. To bolster his appeal, he cites several facts and assumptions, which seems at first glance convincing. However, with a close inspection, this deal is full of questionable and controversial points. If the business load could be approved to grant, it is imperative for the applicant to provide essential answers to these following questions needed to be raised.

To begin with, the applicant fails to offer any strong evidence to prove that the scale of Monroe's jazz market is super huge. First, the fact that over 100,000 people attended jazz festival last summer does not necessarily indicate that people in Monore are fervent fans of jazz. Besides, it also does not imply that people who like to participate in musical carnival are willing to join in the jazz club for entertainment. Second, the highest-rate radio program indeed brings a lot of fun for residents. However, we are not informed that these listeners are the fans who like to be a member of jazz club. In addition, if there is a choice for people not to go outside and simultaneously enjoy the joy brought by jazz program, they will definitely pick this option. Although there are several well-known jazz musicians in Monroe, it does not mean that they agree to help the club attract more customers to take part in the club. There is a strong possibility that they only perform national-level shows and will not patronize those obscure jazz clubs. Without taking these into consideration, the proposal remains dubious at best.

Secondly, there is no guarantee that investing the jazz club will be extremely profitable. For example, those people strongly might not choose to listen to jazz music in the club if they are required to pay for the admission fee. Perhaps, they prefer playing the radio and listening to the program at home for free. Or perhaps, Attending the festival is one of their working place bonus or is one of the public affairs administered and funded by the local government, which local residents can enjoy the privilege without paying. Because the applicant does not mention any further information about the festival. And the study that crazy jazz fan spends so much money on jazz does not illustrate that how much of the expenditure goes to the jazz club. So without ruling out these probabilities, jazz club cannot boast its prosperity in the future.

Finally, the applicant does not provide any persuasive evidence that local residents are capable of maintaining the interest in loving jazz. Since jazz is one of the classical musical styles, it demands highly aesthetic ability to appreciate its charm. Fans of club need to be cultivated the sense of jazz music and offered consistent jazz lessons, which could start to love this kind of hobby. However, the nearest jazz club is far away, which means that local residents are not really lovers of jazz. There is a strong possibility that they will lose the interest in jazz. This can also indicate that jazz business can not last for a long period of time.

All in all, if the applicant really want to set up his own jazz business, he needs to spend a lot of time and energy in discovering potential hobbyists and nurturing their increasing fondness of jazz. Without thinking about these plans, jazz business will be abortive in the future soon. Investing needs to take a risk but also needs to anticipate those imminent challenges.