Argument:The following was posted on an Internet real estate discussion site."Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents. In contrast, Fitch has 25, many of

In the discussion site, the arguer concludes that choosing Adam Realty as your real estate agent is better than Fitch Realty. To support his or her recommendation, he or she cites a series of facts and numbers to convince people to choose Adam if they want to sell their house. Those statistics seem at first glance logical and compelling, however, a clear inspection reveals that his or her argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions and untenable explanations. Adam is more superior than Fitch unless the arguer could provide more specific and persuasive answers to those questions needed to be asked.

To begin with, the arguer provides no evidence that the quality of a real estate firm is proportional to the number of its agents and the number of working hours per week that its agents work. Although Adam has more than 20 agents, compared to Fitch's total number, it does not necessarily indicate that the quality of Adam is better than Fitch. Besides, the difference in number between two companies cannot prove that the average quality of employees in Fitch is worse than that in Adam. We all believe that the overall ability of a firm depends on performance of its working staff. Even though the factor of how many working hours that its agents work affects the operation of a firm, we are not informed that information about how many Adam agents work part time. Without ruling out these analysis, the arguer's recommendation remains dubious at best.

Secondly, the arguer fails to think about the disparity in sales volume can readily be explained by a myriad of factors other than the comparative quality of the two firms. First, We are not informed the quality of each company, thus, It is unfair to make a connection that sales volume determine the quality of a company, which might convince local residents that Adam will be a better choice. However, there is a strong possibility that the serving area of Adam is filled with beautifully preserved houses that the buyers from other town really prefer to purchase, which could well explain that the sales volume in Adam is higher. There is another possibility that the serving area of Fitch is located in a place where there are so many manufacturing factories and polluted rivers, which may affect the performance of salesmen in Fitch. Without ruling out these possibilities, the arguer can not hastily draw the conclusion.

Thirdly, the arguer fails to take into considerations that the disparity of the speed of a sale is explainable by other plausible factors.The arguer sets the example with his own experience that the house listed with Fitch is more difficult to sell in a short period of time, whereas the house listed with Adam is far much faster to sell within one month. But the arguer ignores the unquestionable fact that the changing time will affect the pace of selling a house. During the ten years, the pace of economy is more swift than anyone could imagine. The leading real estate firms will definitely be keeping up with the flow of the river of economy. In addition, housing price also will change through the time. And price is the most intangible factor to be considered because it depends primarily on the policy of the government. If you want to sell your house at a good price, you would definitely not pay so much attention on how fast it could be sold, reversely, you would worry about the profit you could earn through selling your house. If the arguer still uses the old story to predict the future trend, even the most nonprofessional resident will not take the recommendation based on the archaic statistics.

All in all, consumers need to do a lot of research in seeking help or service from any agent which can really affect your property value and future price if your really plan to sell your house. Without ruling out these possibilities and taking these into account, the arguer's recommendation is not unquestionable at all. No body wants to earn less or make a bad deal.