The following appeared in a letter sent by a committee of homeowners from the Deerhaven Acres to all homeowners in Deerhaven Acres."Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards shoul

In the letter, the committee in Deerhaven concludes that they should adopt their own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting in order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres. To support the new policy, the committee cites the evidence that homeowners in nearby Brookville succeeded in adopting a set of restrictions and their average property values tripled seven years ago, which seems at first glance a cogent case, however, a clear inspection reveals that this conclusion is rite with groundless assumptions, which weaken the proposed policy in the letter.

Firstly, the committee commits a fallacy of a false analogy that implementing the similar policy will boost up the economy of Deerhaven. The committee fails to take into consideration a variety of alternative explanations that will rival the policy. First of all, the policy adopted by nearby Brookville community might not equally apply to Deerhaven community, because any policy has to follow the pace of community development and meet the demand of local residents. In addition, many factors that could influence property value may change during these years, such as the above-mentioned regulations on landscaping and the colors of exteriors of home. It is not thoughtful for the committee to hastily take similar measures for an unpromising future. In short, without ruling out these possibilities, the policy is unpersuasive as it stands.

Secondly, the committee overlooks the feasibility of carrying out the policy in the Deerhaven Acres. For one hand, the committee fails to provide any evidence that this policy is voted by all the residents in Deerhaven and they all approve the new method unanimously. There is a strong likelihood that some of the local residents are unwilling to change the color of their house and reconstruct their front and back yards. There is another possibility that some historical sites are protected and preserved by the local government and national government. For another hand, even though all of the people in Deerhaven agree with the policy, the difference of the geological condition is needed to be evaluated. Without considering those probabilities, the proposed action may not be effectively executed and the conclusion still remains untenable.

Thirdly, the committee fails to think about the cost of reconstructing the community and undesired consequences as it follows if Deerhaven community adopts the set of restrictions. For example, the committee needs to recruit some professional geologists who can measure the overall condition of the mud, some distinguished historians who are capable of evaluating the price of historical sites and some hardworking architects who are responsible for reconstructing the present housing structure. There will be a huge amount of cost needed to pay if they adopt the policy. If it is true, who is in charge of raising those money and funds to support the event. Without those thoughtful evaluation, the proposed policy may not be as feasible as it applied practically seven years ago.

All in all, in order to boost up the economy of the community, properly adjusting some changes and adopting some new and practical policies might contribute to a success. However, unless the committee could give the answers to those questions and provide more cogent evidence to support those assumptions, the argument still remains dubious at best.