The following appeared in a letter sent by a committee of homeowners from the Deerhaven Acres to all homeowners in Deerhaven Acres.

"Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and housepainting."

In the letter sent by the committee in Deerhaven Acres, the authors proposed to implement regulations on landscaping and house painting in order to increase the property values. To support the proposal, the author cites the evidence in Brookville seven years ago, which had implemented a similar set of regulations with tripled property values. However, this evidence is insufficient and ineffective to conclude that the same measures are going to yield in Deerhaven Acres.

First, an unsolid assumption given by the author is that the dramatical increase of the property values in Brookville fully attributes to the uniformity of yards and of the houses' exterior painting. As we know, the property values are complex indexes that are decided by multiple factors. For example, an increase in population influx could be a reason that pushed the property value to climb up. Or, a plump of demands on the houses could lead to the grow. Without ruling out these possibilities, it is hard to conclude that restrictions are able to increase the property values along.

Furthermore, another unsound assumption is that the measures taken seven years ago are still effective nowadays. Apparently, events happened in the past are not confirmed to happen again at the moment. For instance, the economy in the particular country could be really robust and booming seven years ago. On the contrary, it might suffer a downtrend recession currently. Another counterexample can be related to the population. Seven years ago, the city attracted foreigner to settle in and domestic workers to earn their living there, however, an outflux trend might have been triggered and people are moving out unstoppably.

Finally, the author assumes that Deerhaven Acres could have similarly positive results just as that in Brookville. It is unfounded that a successful experience can be copied and pasted to another place directly. For example, the majority of people living in Brookville might be engineers and lawyers who prefer rules and integrity, thus, regulated appearances. However, the majority of people around Deerhaven Acres might be artists and musicians who are full of imagination and prefer unconstrained layouts. This kind of conditions has to be taken into considerations before the assumption can be attested to be valid.

In conclusion, even though the author provides an insightful suggestion for the increase in property values in Deerhaven Acres, the given evidence is far from being sufficient. In this case, the committee might not accept the proposal.