The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the author recommends the television station to restore the time for weather and local news. To support this argument, the author points out that the received complaints are mainly about weather and local news which were provided with more time, and that the local business partners canceled the contracts because of the time rearrangement. However, there are additional evidence needed to fully evaluate the argument.

The first evidence we need is regarding the credibility of the complaints. The complaints recived from viewers can come from one or two viewers or from a considerable amout of viewers. If it is from one or two, it is insufficient to conclude that the majority of viewers dislike the section of national news, thus the argument will be weaker. On the contrary, if the author could provide the comparison of the number of viewers they received complaints from with the total number of viewers and the proportion is high enough, then the argument will be stronger. Without ruling the factors of how much viewers involved, the television station can not be convinced that local citizens are not in favor of national news.

Another important evidence the author needs to provide is for the relationship between the contract canceling and the time re-arrangement. There is no solid eviden that can be used to support the reason local businesses canceled the advertising contracts is just because of more time allocated for national news. Perhaps the television has a decline of total viewers. Or, perhaps the companies do not have enough money to invest in further advertising projects. These scenarios could serve as the evidence to undermine the assumption the author made. Unless these conditions are taken into consideration, we can not draw the conclusion that the re-arrangement is responsible for the missing contracts.

One more evidence that is also important for the argument could come from the feasibility of whether retoring the time back can attract more viewers and prevent losing business contracts. If it is the case that the local citizens have other amusements or TV shows they prefer to spend in, then such changing the time between different sections of news might not lead to a success. In addition, if the local companies suffer financial crisis or they have a lower price quoted by other television companies, they might not change their minds back to recontract those agreements. Such scenarios would enfeebled the argument. The author would have to provide this evidence before the decision-maker in the television station accept or reject the proposal.

To sum up, even though the author proposed a possible solution for the television station to get back on its track, he or she has to provide additional supporting evidence. This includes, but is not limited to, the credibility of the complaints, the relationship between the time re-arrangement and the contract omit, and the feasibility of conducting the proposal.