The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To begin with, the statement is an intriguing topic that in order to cultivate the young generation's preparetion for future leadership across sectors, a society should focus on applying an environment of cooperation instead of competition. In my point of view, however, I disagree with the statement and I believe both cooperation and competition play an important role in building up leadership.

A society's future depends on its young generation, and the society should take the responsibility to provide the young people with enough resources and education for them to beef up leadership skills. For example, when these young people are at school as students, internally, they are some leadership positions open for them. These opportunities are vital for these future leaders to train their leadership skills which are important for not only their careers but a nation's properous future. Thus, to obtain extensive excellent leaders in the future, training and experience need to be provided when they are still young, and this kind of experience should include both cooperation and competition.

Cooperation is a significant integrated part in terms of leadership. As a leader, the main job scope is to lead a team which includes the leader himself or herself with the surbodinates. Without proper cooperation, the team is not solid and strong to perform any kind of work. Consider the previous example in classroom, if the students are unruly to the head of the class or other representatives, certain tasks could not be completed well. For example, maybe some students tend to be talkactive and the classroom are usually noisy. If they are cooperative when the head trys to persuade them, it will encourage the head to communicate more in the future. Communication skills are important for leadership. Thus, it is important to have a sense of cooperation for the leadership coaching.

Certainly, some might argue that competition breaks down the harmonious relationship inside a team, and it is not beneficial to leadership. However, competition is indeed necessary for a potential candidate to stand out and become a actual leader. During almost every selection for leaders, those candidates try their best to persuade the audience who have the right to vote to vote for them. This kind of competition is everywhere and necessary. For example, if without the competition, the president of the United States is chosen by himself or herself, and he or she probably won't have enough competence to lead the whole country. Therefore, competition should not be abandoned at the teenagers' young ages, because they are going to face it finally in the near future.

To sum up, both cooperation and competition are indispensable for leadership cultivation. A nation's responsities includes the job to prepare the future leaders for government, industry, reserach and other areas. Thus, cooperation and competition should be included in the education or daily activities for the young generation.