In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the proposal, the author recommends Prunty County to carry out certain measures to improve its highway safety. To support the proposal, the author points out that the similar measures taken in Butler County five years ago are so effective that its accident rate dropped by 25 percent. However, additional evidence is required to fully evaluate the argument. Those pieces of evidence might strengthen the argument or, on the contrary, undermine it.

The first evidence we need is the feasibility that the measures taken in Butler County can be equally applied to Prunty County. Widening lane widths, modifying the rough surface on highways, and setting up alarms at dangerous intersections which worked well for Bulter County, however, might encounter roadblocks in Prunty County. Perhaps, the lanes in Prunty County are wide enough compared to the standard or even relaxed lanes. Or, due to a limitation of bad weather, the highway surface could not be remodified. Such scenarios would certainly weaken the author's argument. Without the evidence to support the feasibility of copying those measures, the decision-maker in Prunty County cannot be convinced that it will be still effective to apply them.

Another piece of evidence that might be conducive to the evaluation is the credibility of the decrease of 25 percent reported accidents in Butler County. It is possible that hidden accidents were not reported either 5 years ago or nowadays. For instance, the number of accidents may be accurate 5 years ago, but it may be underestimated currently because of the pressure from the government. As a result, the argument would be enfeebled. On the contrary, the number may be lesser than it was reported in the past due to poor technology compared to the high-tech right now. This evidence would lead to a stronger argument.

Last but not least, one more evidence that is also important to the argument could come from the statement linking the non-decreased accidents with drivers who drive too fast. Of course, exceeding the speed limit can be a potential cause. However, there might be other factors that prohibit the accidents from declining. For example, the sign of speed limitation might not be obvious for the drivers to be noted. Or, perhaps raining or snowing frequently strikes Prunty County, bringing difficulties for the driver to slow down in certain ranges. If these are the cases, solutions to these problems would be more effective than copying the what Butler County did, thus the argument would be weaker.

In conclusion, even though the author proposed a solution that might be possible to make the highways in Prunty County safer, additional evidence should be given to make the argument more compelling and well-founded. This includes, but is not limited to, the feasibility of successfully copying measures taken in Prunty County, the credibility of the reported decrease, and the link between the accidents and driving too fast.