Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Laws, as a tool to define and regulate citizens' behaviors, have been coming into being for thousands of years. The statement claims that obeying just laws and disobeying and resisting unjust laws are the responsibilities for everyone in the world. In my opinion, citizens have obligations to conform to laws with the right to argue or challenge the unjust rules but not to disobey or subvert them.

Laws stand for authority, and they are considered as compulsory to be comply with when being setup. Obeying laws without considering whether it is just or unjust is a obligation for every citizen, and that is how a stable and secured society was formed. In Qin dynasty, the monarch Qinshihuang published a list of laws to for all the people in the countries once he had conquered and merged other nations which was teared apart due to war. Because of this publication, people in different areas have common rules to conform, thus the country has the power to fully unite all the parts. If someone was unruly to certain rules, he or she usually ended up a punishment or even death. Therefore, with the tradition and prototype descending to the society nowadays, people in China still believe in the unassailable power of laws. Without this power, a country could not last for long and could not sustain a stable community.

Certainly, it is true that unjust laws are flawed and may be unfair to certain groups of people, and thus they might need to be adjusted. However, the modification of laws should be taken in a proper and formal way, that means it needs to be negotiated by lawyers, government and scholars. People who consider certain rules are unjust can clarify with lawyers. In most of the cases, it is the person's narrow-minded opinion because he or she might not be proficient in laws. If it is a case that a law is against by a considerable amount of people including proponents who are knowledgeable in laws. A possible solution is to put forth the idea and bring it up for discussion, instead of resisting it.

Laws are important for a society to be sustainable, and the consequences of disobeying it can cause severe security problems for the country. When a law is subject to disputation, a formal discussion or further modification can be done in a way that is resourceful and proper.