Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People should spend money on things that last a long time, such as an expensive piece of jewelry, and not spend money on short-term pleasures like vacations.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Everyone should have the reins of their own lifes. I personally disagree with the statement. If I were forced to choose, I would say we should enjoy the short-term pleasures live has to offer to us. I believe that in this way we can be more happy at our daily routine and can also relieve our stress. Modern medicine had a huge impact at our lifes. Nowadays we are able to cure diseases that were fatal in the past, and as a consequence humans are having a longer life span. However, it does not mean we overcome death. No one knows the day we will perish, that is why we must live our day like it was our last day in this planet. I have to admit, that my opinion on this matter has been highly influenced by my personal experience. My mom always wanted to visit Disney before she died, she saved money and in 2015 she was able to visit USA. A few months later she discovered a cancer and she got ill really soon. The point is, if my mother had saved her money, she would have never realized her dream. I can say that when she died, she was really happy and did not regret anything. Futhermore, spending money at short-time pleasure and activities, might also help us to de-stress. I am not saying we should spend all of our money at once, but we need to have a well-balanced life. Drawning for my own experience, my daily routine at the office is super tiring, and there is nothing better than at the end of the day, to go to the bakery and buy a cake. It may not sound something impressive, but I must say it brings me joy and helps me to relieve some stress. As a consequence, I sleep better at night and can go to another day at the office with my energies recharged. It is clear to see why, we must focus on short-term pleasures otherwise our life would be too tiring and boring. In light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that we should focus on short-term pleasure, since it helps us concentrate at everyday joys and also because it helps us to de-stress from our daily routines.