Some young children spend a great amount of their time practicing sports. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of exercising and practicing sports. It is well known, sports play a major role on child’s development by improving the physical growth and teaching a myriad of helpful skills for their future. However, every coin has two sides, and this statement can also be applied to sports. Spending excessive time playing sports can also affect negatively. Some advantages and disadvantages will be exposed in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, there are a lot of studies pointing out the beneficial aspects of physical activities. Sports consist basically in the repetition of several exercises, which are responsible for increasing muscular strength, resilience and improving mental health. Additionally, it also teaches important abilities such as team work, time-management, leadership and discipline, crucial skills in the modern society. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter, has been profoundly influenced by my own personal experience. You see, sports taught me how to work on teams, aiming to become a better athlete and professional. As a result, I developed this skill that is highly valuable in the job market.

Secondly, the practice of sports contains several dangers; The most common are injuries and psychological diseases. Sometimes improper practice for a long period of time without professional guidance may lead to strain a muscle or a ligament, which could affect child’s growth. Besides that, concentrating on sports means expending less time on studies and other activities. If a child gets too tired due to excessive practice of sports, this would affect negatively the child’s mental health, imposing a lot of physical and psychological stress. As a result, this situation can lead to an imbalance life. Parents tend to pressurize their children to study well, and in some cases it can be translated in more pressure put over their children’s shoulder.

In conclusion, there are several advantages and disadvantages for children that practice sports. It is the parent’s duty to guide their children towards a well-balanced life, making sure sports do not represent any kind of impair on child’s development.