In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patro

The argument posits that in order to decrease road accident, Prunty County should undertake various road quality improvement projects similar to Butler County accomplished five years ago. However argument makes certain implict assumptions, correctness of which must be evaluated for proposed argument to be viable.

Butler County achieved 25 percent less accident last year than five years ago, but what were the accident statistics in past two,three and four years? Does every successive year obsevered decrease in accidents? It might be the case last year accident were less than 5 year ago but more than the accidents occured in its previous year. Thus it must corroborate the decrease mentioned with all last five years report and not just last 5th year. Even if the reports suggests continuous decrease, one cannot certain that same will be true at Prunty County. People in various state differs-Prunty County people might be rough drivers, always rushing to thier work contrast to Butler County people with more cautious driving.

The improvements like lane widening, road resurfacing might impetus drivers to overspeed since roads are better and wider, increasing chances of accidents than before. One cannot guarantee the decrease in accidents based on road quality improvements,the condition of car must also be maintained. If Prounty County people ignorant with car maintenance, there are high chances of brakes failures and other car mechanism anomaly leading to egregious ramifications.

Bulter County people might suffered financial crisis within last 2 years and are forced to sell thier vehicles, leading to decreased number of vehicle and thus less accidents. In this case road improvement will not contribute to decreased road accidents. The arguments provided decrease in percent- might be the case there are more accidents in Bulter county than Prunty County.

In conclusion argument must endorse this assumptions with valid evidence for the efficacy of stated road improvemnt to be viable in Prunty County regradless of Butler County.