The following appeared in the business section of a newspaper."Given that the number of people in our country with some form of arthritis is expected to rise from 40 million to 60 million over the next twenty years, pharmaceutical companies that produce d

In the business section, the author concludes that Perkins Pharmaceuticals will be the most profitable company and its new drug will be more popular among those patients who suffer from arthritis. To support his argument, the author tries to make a comparison between two kinds of the drugs produced by two different pharmaceutical firms, however, the comparison does not contain sufficient evidence to bolster his argument. Besides, the author fails to substantiate his argument based on some unwarranted assumptions and unconvincing explanations, which weakens the recommendation in every aspect.

To begin with, the author ignores other feasible method to treat arthritis. Firstly, the given information does not explicitly point out the extent of severity of arthritis, it only says some form of arthritis, which means that people might only get some small symptoms and do not need to take any medicine. Thus, the arguer cannot prove that drugs from each company could be so necessary for the treatment. There is a variety of ways to help people from being suffered by arthritis. For example, people could have yoga lessons or do exercise everyday to accelerate the speed of blood and strengthen their bones condition. Or perhaps, they just only to participate in outdoor activities with the sunshine shedding from the sun, which can save people a lot of money. In addition, any kind of drug always has some amount of side effects people are not familiar with. Without ruling out these possibilities, the author's conclusion remains dubious at best.

Secondly, the author fails to provide any evidence to prove that the quality of the drug from each of two companies. Even though many analysts believe that people will buy the drugs for the treatment of arthritis, it does not provide any convincing statistics that the drugs manufactured by the two companies are effective in curing arthritis. Moreover, people prefer purchasing Xylan rather than Xenon, which does not necessarily indicate that the quality of overall drugs produced by Becton company is worse than Perkins company. The given information also mentions that 7 out 10 patients suffering from the most extreme cases of arthritis choose Xylan, which does not necessarily point out that Xylan has the same effect on other less severe cases of arthritis. Nobody wants to take the medicine that does not work well for their health. Without taking these into consideration, the arguer's conclusion remains untenable as it stands.

Thirdly, The author fails to do a lot of research about other new drugs treatment for arthritis in ten years, then, hastily drawing the conclusion. With the development of advanced technology and medical treatment, there is a myriad of advanced clinical experiments will work on the treatment for arthritis. Hundreds of thousands scientists and medical professors are making huge efforts in creating more healthier drugs for people to take if they have the symptoms of arthritis. However, these two drugs will be totally left behind in the aspect of being effective and healthy. Without ruling out these scientific researching results, the argument remains unconvincing as it stands.

All in all, if the trend that more and more people will suffer from arthritis, doctors and scientists will devote their time and energy in making people feel better and live healthier. Companies cannot only pursue the huge profit and forget to advance the quality of their drugs, which will bring about undesired consequence. Patients also need to go to the hospital and see the doctor before they hastily purchase any kind of medicine. If the author could co-write with more scientists and doctors, then, the conclusion will be more persuasive than it is now.