The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Clearview newspaper."In the next mayoral election, residents of Clearview should vote for Ann Green, who is a member of the Good Earth Coalition, rather than for Frank Braun, a member of the Clearvie

In the letter, the author recommends that local residents should vote for Ann Green, and then the environment in Clearview will be better than before. To support the recommendation, the author cites some examples and tries to persuade us recognize the argument. However, those examples seem at first glance convincing, a close inspection reveals that this recommendation is filled with unwarranted assumptions, which makes us question his motivation.

To begin with, the author fails to provide any strong evidence to prove that Ann Green is more qualified than Frank Braun as a mayor. First, the fact that Ann Green is the member of the Good Earth Coalition does not directly indicate that she is capable of dealing with environmental problems. Perhaps she just specializes in management of employees and does not have any practical problem-solving skills. Reversely, although Frank Braun is from the Clearview town council, he might has a consolidate knowledge foundation in earth, nature and environment protection. The author does not mention any education background of each candidate. Without ruling out these possibilities, the recommendation remains dubious as best.

Secondly, the author fails to take into considerations other factor that strongly affects the environment in town. For example, more and more residents purchase private cars and do not choose public transportation to commute from home to working place. Gas emission from those automobiles plays a major part in air pollution. Or perhaps, there are less and less green plants and trees in the town due to some profitable reasons, such as making much more paper and books or building some luxury furniture, which will intensify the air pollution issue. As a result, the environment will be worsen. Every one needs to be aware of this importance of protection.

Thirdly, the author belittles the fact that the increasing number of factories will decrease unemployment rate. As a mayor, you not only care about the environment of the town, but also need to consider that people need to making a living and get a job for supporting their families. However, if local people cannot even earn a salary, the economy of the town definitely is very gloomy. Thus, no money will be spent on protection and people will be starving and poor. I bet that no mayors want this result.

All in all, every citizen is responsible for the future of their hometown and city. The prosperity of city depends on every citizen's contribution. However, whoever will take this position of being a mayor of Clearview, she or he needs make a huge effort in reconstructing the city and rebuilding a better life for citizens. Without making these determinations, the recommendation remains untenable as it stands.