The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Clearview newspaper.

"In the next mayoral election, residents of Clearview should vote for Ann Green, who is a member of the Good Earth Coalition, rather than for Frank Braun, a member of the Clearview town council, because the current members are not protecting our environment. For example, during the past year the number of factories in Clearview has doubled, air pollution levels have increased, and the local hospital has treated 25 percent more patients with respiratory illnesses. If we elect Ann Green, the environmental problems in Clearview will certainly be solved."

In this article, the author concludes that the water in earth’s oceans must have originated from comets which had collided with it. I find his conclusion unconvincing for many reasons.

The author himself concedes the possibility of there having been water vapor even during the formation of the earth, arising out of the collision of space rocks. He says that some water vapor might have escaped into space in the earliest stages while the earth had not developed sufficient gravitational force; but, in a later period, when the earth grew into its present size and developed greater gravitation, the gases and water vapor continued to be retained in its atmosphere. He then advances the argument that the water in earth’s oceans ‘must’ have originated from comets striking it at a later stage of its development because comets are largely ice made up of frozen water and gases. there are two problems with this argument.

First of all, if the gravitational energy even in the formative stages of the earth was strong enough for even the surface to get molten, why did the water vapour that was present not also stick to the earth but flew off into space? A gravitational force that was strong enough to retain metals must have been strong enough to retain the much lighter water vapour also.

First, if the water vapor resulting from the collision of a comet could fall as rain on the earth’s surface, why does he rule out the possibility of water vapor trapped earlier also behaving in the same manner and contributing to the water content in the oceans?

Secondly, the author has not quantified the amount of water vapor that a single comet collision can give rise to. How many comets must have collided with the earth in order to account for all the water that is contained in the oceans of the earth? is there any other corroborative evidence for that many number of collisions? Another shortcoming in the author’s theory is that it does not account for the salt content in earth’s oceans.

These points must be clarified before the author’s views can be allowed to form part of a school textbook.