Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas wher

In the memo, the vice president concludes that building a new store in Plainesville will bring huge profits and contribute to the success of their business. Unfortunately, However, the argument is problematic in the presence of the following alternative explanations that could rival the proposed one in the memo.

To begin with, those above-mentioned facts and reports seem at first glance logical and convincing, but careful verification reveals that the arguer fails to provide any compelling evidence to support the recommendation. First of all, the report of strong sales of exercise apparel does not necessarily indicate that Plainsville residents would be interested in keeping healthy, let alone purchasing Nature's Way's health food. Second, the popularity of the local health club is little indication that the residents in Plainesville live much healthier lives now, and that Nature's way will earn a huge amount of profits from the new store. What's more, the memo contains no evidence to support the assumption that people who exercise regularly are also interested in buying health food and health-related products. In addition,the fact that a certain fitness program is mandatory for Plainesville's schoolchildren accomplishes nothing toward bolstering the recommendation.

Secondly, the vice president is overconfident that setting up a new store will boost the revenue up. Because he does not provide any information regarding the cost of building such a new store in Plainsville and taxes of a long-term business contract with the local government. Perhaps, housing and renting cost for a month is higher than that of other areas and, thus we can not be convinced that the new store will be profitable. Or perhaps, there is a relatively stringent legislative standard for any new store that intends to start its business in Plainsville. There is a strong likelihood that if the business is running not smoothly as it expected, based on a mutual trust with the government, Nature's way is not allowed to terminate the legal contract. In short, without ruling out these possibilities, the vice president's recommendation remains dubious at best.

Finally, the vice president unfairly assumes that Plainesville residents will prefer NW over other merchants that sell similar products. Since there are so many such residents concerning with a healthy life in Plainesville, it is entirely possible that other companies which specialize in manufacturing health food and selling health-related products have already been the top choices for people to choose good quality products because of their existing reputation and famous brand image. It is wise for consumers to buy the safe food from a long-lasting store with good reputation and regular popularity other than a new store.

A company whose products are related to the heath of people's lives, sometimes even affect people's physical and mental condition needs encouragement from the government which grants legal enfranchisement and issues business license and support from the local residents who do benefit from those products, which could achieve much more success in the long run. However, the vice president's recommendation of building a new store in the memo is not likely to significantly persuade the local government to trust unless all of the above-mentioned assumptions are conclusively substantiated.