The following was written by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. At present, the nearest jazz club is over 60 miles away from Monroe; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local market all to itself. In addition, there is ample evidence of the popularity of jazz in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly.' Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment. We, therefore predict that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The developers states that establishing a jazz club will bring profit due to the popularity of jazz in Monroe. However, there are many unsubstantiated assumptions in the argument that need to be address by the developers.

First of all, the developers assumed that the C note will have a substantial market share of customers due to its location. However, they might overlooked that there might be other forms of jazz entertainments in Monroe. Hotels and restaurants are able to held jazz shows by inviting musicians and bands. The shows might already be very popular among the locals that establishing another jazz club will not able to gain all the market. Moreover, if there are no jazz club currently located in Monroe. Market analysis probably figured out that people in Monroe do not prefer attending jazz club shows as jazz entertainment but to listen radio shows or watch TV about jazz. Opening a jazz club downtown Monroe might be ignored by the locals. Thus, before deciding to establish C note, being aware of the habits of Monroe locals are essential.

Secondly, the developers assumed jazz is popular in Monroe by judging that a enormous amount of people attended jazz festival last summer. However, we have to know whether the crowd are mostly from Monroe or by other cites. Perhaps the jazz festival is an international event that draws people from all over the world. Therefore, evidences need to be provided to show that a high percentage of the audience is from Monroe. Moreover, the developers only offered last year's data of audience. How about two years before? Or the summer before a decade? It might be possible that last year a famous jazz musician came to the festival so it allured a titanic crowd. There is probably no entrance fees to the festival due to the mayor of Monroe wants to boost Monroe's tourism. Therefore, the developers need to look more deeply about the reason of the popular festival.

Last but not least, the developers assume that C note will make money because fans tend to spend substantial amount of money on jazz due to a nation wide study. However a nationwide study cannot accurately reflect Monroe's fans. Monroe's fans probably spend little amount of money on entertainment and tend to seek the free ways to enjoy jazz. Therefore, the developers should provide a study done on Monroe's locals.

In conclusion, the argument is based on several crucial but unproven assumptions addressed by the developers.