The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The investment advice given by the firm suggests the client to invest in Consolidated Industry due to their prediction of heating oil demands. However, several questions need to answer in order to make wise investments.

The firm mentioned that the forecasters predicted that the weather pattern would continue to be cold for more years. However, what are the backgrounds and education levels of the forecasters? Are they college graduates that predict weather patterns based on lousy excel models and making wild guesses? The predictions may base on wrong data or simplified factors due to their lack of equipment and experience. The firm must provide forecasters' backgrounds and their level of experience.

The letter also mentioned that due to the new housing built, an increase in heating oil demand would occur. However, is heating oil the only method of heating? New homes being built may equipped with advanced heating facilities such as electronic heater or indoor heating pipes other than heating oil. Therefore the increased demand for heating oil is unknown.

The firm did not mention the long-run population trend. Does the population growth remains high in the next ten or twenty years? Or is the population growth a short term response due to the low prices of housing on government subsidies? The population might even decrease if the residents found out that the cold weather will continue for a long time and thus cannot forebear the low temperatures. The firm assumed that the population growth will still increase without providing any evidence of future trends.

The firm recommended to invest in Consolidated Industries but provide no information about the company. What is the market share of Consolidates Industries? If there are more prominent companies that sell heating oil which is a monopoly in the market. Then investing in a small company like Consolidates Industry will not be a bright idea. Also, does a retailer makes a profit in selling heating oil or the manufacturer that makes it? Apple makes much money selling iPhones, but its retailer does not. Therefore, the firm should answer whether retailers in heating oil makes money and the market share of the company.

Finally, is this the right time to invest, or is it too late? Climate forecasts are not a secret and people can realize that new houses were built. Which makes people and other companies start to invest in heating oil. The information may be old in an investment aspect; thus investing now may not make a significant profit. Therefore, more information about the market dynamics also need to be provided.

The investment firm must first answer the questions above to give recommendations for others to invest.