The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr. Karp pointed out in the article that his method by interviewing children is more accurate and better than Dr. Field's. However, there are some assumptions that that Dr. Karp must address in order to give his conclusion.

Firstly, Dr Karp assumed that his widely made interview can also fit for the specific island of Tertia. Before stating Dr. Field's method is inferior, Dr. Karp needs to conduct his interview in Tertia to have the same experiment background as Dr. Field. Also, the interview should only focus on the children of Tertia rather than children living in other groups of islands. Children in other islands may not have the same backgrounds as children of Tertia. Moreover, Dr. Karp should provide the situation when the interviews are conducted. Where is the interviews conducted? In the article, the interview seems to be done in an environment that all the children of the group of islands can gather. Maybe its a school else where or a children scout camp far from the region.

Secondly, by judging others works as invalid because the results are different than yours seems unreasonable. Since different methods are used, there is a high chance that the results will be different. The children may react differently by the to methods. When observation is done, the children and Tertia residents can act normally and it may reflects the real situations in their lives. On the other hand, direct contact such as interviews may cause children to behave differently since their parents might be by their side. Therefore, Dr. Karp might need to also conduct the method of observation to figure out whether the results are the same as interview before making the assumption that Dr. Field's research is invalid.

Thirdly, the articles states that the interview is carried by Dr. Karp's students. Dr. Karp seems to be very confident towards his students that they will do the job properly. However, the students might be poorly paid graduates that are reluctant to do such interviews and design the interview questions poorly. Also the students might not have enough knowledge of Tertia as Dr. Karp did. They might misrepresent the results of the interview.

Before judging others results are wrong, Dr Karp must first address the assumptions he made clearly.