According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author points out the fact that amount of cheating is rising and by adopting honor codes, it have reduced cheating on campus. Therefore, Groveton College's success means that honor code will also works at other colleges. At first glance, the reasons behind implementing the honor code seems reasonable. However, there are a few aspects the author might have missed, thus more evidence should be provided.

When cheating rises in colleges, students are always the first to blame. However, this might not be fair to the students. It might be possible that exams at college are getting harder which makes students more difficult to pass their tests. Students tend to work hard preparing tests. But once they find out that no matter how hard they work, failing the test is inevitable, students will lose the motivation to study. Also, difficult tests might be unable to distinguish the difference between hard-working students and lazy students. Eventually, forcing students choosing the path of cheating in order to pass the test or to get better grades which students think they deserve. Therefore the author must provide evidence of the difficulty of the test students took recently. Also, a survey must also be conducted to inquire whether students think exams are getting more difficult.

College is an environment where a lots of leisure activities are going on that will distract the students. Those entertainments will cost students lots of their time and thus have a effect on their studies. It might be possible that student clubs are also rising during this period. Causing students too much time and effort focusing on entertainments rather their studies. Thus, the author must also list some evidence about the things that distract students from their studies and whether they caused students' low grades making them cheating on their tests in order to get good grades.

After implementing honor codes, some students might have a strong integrity toward tests. While others may still be cheating because the teachers are no longer monitoring them. Without the teacher policing the students. It is hard to believe that the cheating among students will decrease due to the honer code. When taking tests, student are highly focused on their papers. Who will have the time to report other students? It is also possible that students will ignore cheating by others because they are afraid that if they are found out reporting others they might be blamed by their peers, being hated in the class forever.

Therefore, the author should provide a anonymous survey done by students showing how many people are really cheating on tests.

Students said they won't likely to cheat may be that the survey they filled in required putting their names on. Students will tend to give the answers that the teacher wants. Thus the survey does not reflect the truth. Therefore, a anonymous survey must be presented by the author to show the true voice of the students.

Finally, the honor code will work at all universities is highly unlikely. Maybe Groveton college is a highly prominent college that all students are very honest to themselves. Other college might not be the case. Thus, perhaps a integrity test must be done on the students at other college before implementing the honor code.

The author must provide the evidence listed above in order to decide whether the honor code works at Groveton College.