During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author states that in order to decrease on-the-job accidents and increasing productivity. Shortening work shifts is the way to achieve. However, several assumptions in the content needs support.

First of all, it is assumed that the experts are highly prominent of their studies. Who are the experts? Are they young college graduates making analysis based on textbooks and their lousy charts? Or are they experienced researchers but making wild guesses? Before believing the experts words, we must first understand who these people are.

Secondly, in order to conduct these work shifts cut, we have to assume that Panoply Company is entirely the same as Quiot Manufacturing, which is impossible. If Quiot Company is a startup company which has less experience in manufacturing, then it might have more accidents due to the workers lack of experience and proper training. Also it might be possible that Panoply is a highly advanced company that uses robots and automation production lines in their factory. Require few works to have direct interaction with dangerous machine. Therefore, Panoply Company will have less accidents and works and take shorter work shifts.

Thirdly, indicating that reduce job accidents can improve productivity is unreasonable. Maybe Quiot Manufacturing has problems like human factor designs which make productivity low. Or their factory configuration is flawed causing plenty bottle necks during necks. Managers who cannot communicate well with workers may also be one of the reasons causing productivity to slow down. None of these productivity problems and simply be solved by cutting work shifts for an hour.

Last but not least, can we make sure that workers will use their extra free time to rest? Workers may use their time to play cards in the office, chatting with coworkers or even leave the factory to have a little trip in town. Who can promise that workers will use extra time to rest? If they don't, then the claim that shorten work shifts will decrease on-the-job accidents is doubtful.

In conclusion, the argument depends on several critical but unproven assumptions that need to be addressed by the author.