To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director indicates in the memo that new housing facilities need to be built in order to fulfill the future demands. However pieces of evidence need to be given before making final call.

The memo indicates that Buckingham's enrollment is increasing and students will double over 50 years. However, this seems not so urgent to build dormitories since enrollments only increase 2 percent each year. Building housing for students seems to be a waste of the college budget. The director should provide evidence to show that whether the capacity of the dormitories is full or not. If the evidence shows that housing is currently full and cannot support another 2 percent increase of students. Then the director should take immediate action to build housings.

Senior students tend to live outside campus for more independent lifestyle while college freshmen prefer o live on campus since they are not quite familiar with their surroundings.

Therefore, dormitories might have extra space after senior students left and can still support the enrollment students. However, if this is not true, there might be a need to build new student housings. The director should provide evidence that whether senior students will leave school and live own their own.

The director points out that it might be a barrier for students to find housing in town due to the rising apartment rents. However, it might be possible that Buckingham's college is full of rich students whom can still afford high rents and prefer to live outside the campus. Also, students who are living with their parents will not be affected by the rising price. The director needs to provide evidence such as arranging a survey to find out whether finding apartments is difficult for students.

Finally, the director's view that students will be attracted to their college by judging their dormitories is narrow. Education quality, scholarships, prominent professors and staff are also considerations for students when picking their college. Therefore, evidence needs to be provided to show the preferences of students toward selecting college whether dormitory is their first consideration.

The director should provide evidence mentioned above before making the decision to build more student housing.