The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice for a client.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The investment advice given by the firm suggests the client to invest in Consolidated Industry due to their prediction of heating oil demands. However, there are several questions that need to be answered in order to make wise investments.

The firm mentioned that the forecasters predicted that the weather pattern will continue to be cold for more years. However, what are the backgrounds and education level of the forecasters? Are they college graduates that predict weather patterns based on lousy excel models and making wild guesses? The predictions may be based on wrong data or simplified factors due to their lack of equipments and experience. The firm must provide the forecasters backgrounds and their level of experience.

The letter also mentioned that due to the new housing being built, there will be an increase in heating oil demand. However, is heating oil the only method of heating? New homes being built may be equipped with advanced heating facilities such as electronic heater or indoor heating pipes other than heating oil.

Therefore the increased of demand towards heating oil is unknown.

The firm didn't mention the long run population trend. Does the population growth remains high in the next ten or twenty years? Or is the population growth a short term response due to the low prices of housing on government subsides? The population might even decrease if the residents found out that the cold weather will continue for a long time and thus can't forebear the low temperatures. The firm assumed that the population growth will still be increasing without providing any evidence of future trends.

The firm recommended to invest on Consolidated Industries but provide no information about the company. What is the market share of Consolidates Industry? If there are bigger companies that sells heating oil which is a monopoly in the market. Then investing in a small company like Consolidates Industry won't be a bright idea. Also, does a retailer makes profit in selling heating oil? Or the manufactor that makes it ? Apple makes a lot of money selling iPhones but its retailer doesn't. Therefore, the firm should answer that whether retailers in heating oil makes money and the market share of the company.

Finally, is this the right time to invest? Or is it too late? Climate forecasts aren't a secret and people can realize that new houses are being built. Which makes people and other companies start to invest in heating oil. The information may be old now in a investment aspect and investing now may not make a large profit. Therefore, more information about the market dynamics need to be provided also.

The investment firm must first answer the questions above to give recommendations for others to invest.