Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The government plays a very important and crucial role in the development of a nation. It has to make smart decisions and implement policies keeping the present and future needs of the nation. The prompt states that the government should focus more on immediate problems rather than solve problems that may or may not occur in the future. I strongly agree with the prompt for primarily three reasons.

Firstly, with the climate changing at an unstoppable rate, climatic situations and therefore the problems that come with it change in the blink of an eye. One year the country is suffering from drought, next year it is drowning in floods. To exemplify, let’s take the example of an incident that occurred in one of India’s old village. For two long-running years, the village was suffering from drought. To overcome this situation, the government started storing water in the dams, releasing very little each day/week and having continuous water cuts throughout the year so that next year they would have sufficient water. Next year, as it turns out, the village received a downpour of rainfall and the dams flooded the nearby and low lying areas which caused another problem for the government. They then had to decide measures to control the new problem at hand.

It’s widely known and accepted that since the past two-three decades, the world, the technology and hence the positives and negatives that come with it, are changing each year. It’s very hard to predict what the future may look like. Today what may seem like a solution may actually prove to be otherwise in the future. A few decades ago, China implemented the one-child policy. China’s huge population was affecting the resource utilization and the overall economy of the country. Hence such a measure was implemented keeping the future in mind because the effects of such a policy would be seen only after a few decades. Today, the situation has turned. China saw a drastic decrease in the working-class age group. One working male of the family has to support his family plus the elderly. This affected China’s economy and its growth rate forcing the government to revoke the one-child policy. China couldn’t have possibly predicted this outcome. Hence it’s better to work at the current situation.

Lastly, sometimes some drastic problems have to be dealt with keeping only the present in mind. Even if the government can foresee the negative impacts a certain decision might have on the future, it should and has to keep the current interests of people in mind. This year, a new virus that the world has never seen before hit all parts of the globe, causing multiple deaths. The virus spread through contact and thus the governments of most nations were forced to lock down entire cities, states, and even the country. Such measures will lead to a horrible impact on the country’s economy, world business, etc. But catering to the severity of the current situation at hand, the government had to take such decisions to look after it’s people.

Some may argue saying this way the government can never work towards the big picture if it’s not ready to take risks, but in my opinion, taking small steps towards the big picture and looking after the everyday needs of the people will eventually lead the way to the “big picture”. Strongly believing in the reasons stated, I feel the government should focus on solving the current situation than worry about the future ones.