In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. The use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument is faulty for a number of reasons mainly because it depends on the survey conducted and though the City park should devote funds for recreational activities in the river, moving forward with the proposal would definitely require more information and clarification. The argument holds a number of assumptions because of which it does not present a very persuasive case.

First of all, the argument is based on a survey that does not prove the validity of the claim that water sports are the residents’ favorite recreational activities. Surveys are not the best way to analyze a situation and jump to conclusions mainly because they are subject to a number of criteria. The argument does not mention the kind of questions that were asked during the survey. The questions could have been ambiguous and therefore the survey didn’t record meaningful answers. It is possible that the residents have a number of other favorite sports that they already play and might not give up those sports to play water sports.

Even if water sports are their only favorite sports, we don’t know whether they would like to engage in the water sports activities on the Mason River. They might already be playing at another spot, better for water sports compared to Mason River. Once Mason River too has improvised on its water sports facilities, one cannot say for sure whether these people would like to shift Mason River, primarily because they are comfortable and accustomed to their usual spot. The majority of the residents may be working-class individuals who may not even have time for water sports since they are time-consuming and don’t even provide as a means of exercise.

Further, after the river has been cleaned up, there are high chances that the city government restricts any activities around it in order to maintain the river’s cleanliness. This could include a ban on water sports activities. The government instead might fund for projects like parks or walking trails alongside the river. Therefore it would be wrong to assume that water sport activities would increase after the Mason River has been cleaned.

Because of the above assumptions, the argument will have to provide more information and facts before it is safe to say that after the river has been cleaned, water sport activities will increase and thus the city government should provide funds for water sports.