Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

Governments around the world are often perplexed in complexities about addressing current concerns with primacy or to tackle expected concerns first. Unequivocally the prior should be taken care of first rather than the latter. It is a no brainer that immediate issues concern us the most and help build a good image of the government-anticipated problems might be solved with time, technological improvements, or development of new techniques.

If one goes by classifying the concerns the most current one's seem to be effecting the society the most. An emergency water shortage in an already water shortage facing area will be taken care of first by supplying water tankers or water trains to alleviate the problem of residents first rather building a large artificial lakes or pipelines to permanently solve the problem. Convincingly, supplying water tankers first is the most logical choice to anyone as without water in the short term the living in the area would become unviable for the residents.

Public opinion shapes out of activeness of government to resolve short-term issues swiftly. Governments that react actively to near around issue enjoy a better public image. Populace is often least concerned about the expected problems of the future and seemingly deny their existence, no matter how importantly they may impact them later, they seem to be completely involved in everyday lives and problems. Governments who fail to deal with immediate problems affecting the public the most gradually lose confidence of the public and get replaced in the next elections. Shinzo Abe was known for his long-sightedness as a political leader in Japan however since the nuclear spillover in Fukushima and government’s inability to handle it without disrupting public lives. Giving a backlash to his image, as a political leader and further he had to take early retirement to save face from defeat in next elections.

Another, important aspect to be kept in conscience is that with the advent of technology most pf the problems get resolved in the future, be it medical science where new methods and practices are being derived meteorically, technology making our lives easier, or be it environmental engineering to improve environment, improve land use or recover land. Fracking was initially termed to have very dire consequences for the environment and faced severe criticism and protests but ultimately it lead to lower gas prices and reduced dependence on foreign countries, additionally giving a boost to local economies. Electoral results with reelection of the government is evident of public support.

Governments gain more confidence by solving immediate problems first as they are the most concerning to the public in general. We can conveniently say that public opinion is shaped out of quick and swift addressing of arising issues. The anticipated problems sure need to be focused but are ultimately solved with technology and newer methods. The best approach on solving such anticipated problems is by solving part of it periodically in near time rather than giving complete focus to them.