Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing an

As we all have grown up we have all found studying to be one of the most daunting tasks. Naturally, children are motivated at different levels and take different approaches to studies. While some children take an active interest and are inquisitive about their studies, others just mug up whatever is being taught and vomit it out in the examinations. Finally, these approaches yield different results as one might expect, the children who take up an inquisitive approach get better grades on the other hand students who just mug up don't perform well in academics. The prompt here recommends that students take up an inquisitive attitude towards studies rather than just accepting whatever subject matter is being taught. Undoubtedly, the recommendation suggested by the prompt is justified for the reasons that are as detailed below.

To begin with, when children take an active interest in studies and question the subject matter that is being taught they can create much clearer concepts that they can also apply to the real world. On the other hand, when they just passively accept whatever is being taught to them no concept is made by the students and they lack clarity and they find themselves unable to apply this knowledge. Additionally, children who rely on clearer concepts can retain their subject matter for longer while those who just mug it up find it hard to retain knowledge after a while. In a recent survey conducted by the Miranda institute, the same was corroborated which was conducted or a large batch size of 5000 students. For the students who admitted that they had always been inquisitive in studies, it was found that almost 90% of them could apply their knowledge and provide examples and were also able to remember concepts that were part of courses they had taken up in earlier classes, clearly signaling towards better retention and practical knowledge of the subject matter.

Secondly, as children are inquisitive they have more interest in studies and can grasp subject matter easily. Naturally, a better academic performance these students follow while those students who don't take active interest are less inclined to study and don't perform well in academics. In the same survey conducted by Miranda Institute, it was also found that students who had admitted to taking an active interest in studies performed well in studies on average with an average score of 90% while those who had insisted that they did not take active interest on an average scored just 70%. There was a difference of 20% in total score between the two types of students signaling to us that an inquisitive approach is better.

Thirdly, it is quite clear that motivated students do not suffer from the same boredom while studying as those who are not motivated and rely on just passive acceptance of subject matter. Since motivated children don't get bored they are free from any sort of frustration or psychological depression that other students might suffer from. This is corroborated by the same study by Miranda where students who had admitted to taking an active interest in studies complained less about having to suffer from frustration or occasional depression.

In conclusion, we can say that having an inquisitive approach not only saves us from boredom and allow us to perform well but also helps in creating lifelong concepts.