The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview Our citizens are well aware of the fact that while the Grandview Symphony Orchestra was struggling to succeed our city government promised annual funding to help support it

The argument stands on a number of unstated assumptions in it's recommendation that funding to the Grandview Symphony Orchestra be halted. The argument support's itself by taking support of the several facts, the increase in private funding, more people attending shows, and a future price increase that is hoped to increase revenue for the orchestra. Taken as a whole, the unstated assumptions render the argument highly suspect. Indeed, if the assumptions do not hold true the argument totally falls apart.

To begin with, the recommendation assumes that the funding for the orchestra from private contributor's is significant, it will continue for the next year as well, and a two hundred percent increase is significant. As,it is not clearly stated in the memo we are unsure whether private contributions make a significant chunk of revenue of the orchestar. It may be the case that private funding could just account for a mere one percent of the total revenue or it might account a large chunk of it. However, if former is the case then stopping funding would ultimately create financial troubles for the orchestra. Additionally, it also unclear that the private funding will continue in following years as well. It can so happen that due to inflation or economic downturn the private funding may be decreased or in worst case even cease. As we cannot predict future this assumption is very weak. Moreover, we are informed that there has been a two hundred percent increase in the private funding. It may be the case that it is a two hundred percent increase from 2000 to 4000 dollars or 20,000 to 40,000 dollars increase. If it is the former case, in absolute terms it would be a meager increase in funding and even if it continues for the next year it would still remain ineffectual. Thus, without a proper detail of the revenue streams of the orchestra to support these assumptions, the author's argument falls apart.

Secondly, the recommendation assumes that since the attendance has doubled and ticket prices will be increaesed, more people will come to the theatre again, and the revenue from the ticket sales next year should be a large stream of revenue for the orchestra to sustain. Since we are are not aware whether of the primary reason behind more attendance at theatre it is wrong to assume that the orchestra would enjoy more or even atleast same number of audience the next year it is wrong to assume that more people wil come next year. It may be the case that more people are coming because a nearby famous theatre has been closed, or the cinema's are out of business that may have caused people to come flooding to the theatre. If any of the aforementioned scenario would cease to be,i.e. other theatre's reopen or cinema's come back in business, in the next year it is very likely that seats at the orchestra remain vaccant. Furhtermore, it is pointed out that the prices of tickets will b increased to justify halting funding. It may be the case that revenue from the tickets is not a major part of the revenue while annunal funding is and increase in the prices of the ticket might not be enough for orchestra to sustain in the coming years. Hence, without knowing the proper reason for sudden increase in orchestra attendance and understanding the finances from tikcet revenue to support these asumptions, the author's argument falls apart.

In conclusion, it can be said that the argument makes a number of unstated assumptions that seriously undermine it's validity. Unless these assumptions are addressed the argument falls apart.