In any situation progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In devel

Discussion and delibaration is key to taking progressive decisions. Progress be it in any aspect of world affairs such as science, literature, religion or philosophy has relied on discussion and debate for centuries. The prompt suggests the same that progress in any situation is guided by debate between opposing views. The thought is undoubtedly justified as contarst has always bought nuanced clarity. It is only when different sides of an issue start heavily touting their opinions and refuting others that we are able to reach a conclusion that can be relied upon. Upon careful deliberation by different views on a common topic several unique views are brought to the topic, this ensures no aspect is left untouched about an issue before a solution is reached. Though it is claimed to be time consuming, it is also true that decisions taken in haste are not fruitful.

Debate has been the foundation of progress for any field. The very nature of debate ensures this by strongly incentivizing each side to tout its opinion and refute other's opinion on grounds of logic . It is only through debate that different conflicting nuances of an issue are brought forth by each side. In the times of famous astrinomers such as Galelio and Cornspicious the debate that ensued about the revolution of earth: whether earth revolves around the sun or the sun revolves around the earth. This contraversial view that earth revolved around the sun was advocated by Galieleo and Cornspicious which was not quite popular among the established thought that world revolved around the earth. The debate that followed complemented with ovbservation and experiments conducted by the two scienctists established that earth revolved around the sun, progressing the sciences of that time.

Discussions and debates are taken up by different parties and ususally different opinions are brought forth by opposite sides. This multifaceted discussion ensures that no stone is ever left unturned. Since, all aspects of an issue are thorughouly discussed no point of contention is left after a conclusion is reached. This makes the decision reached from debate of opposing sides reliable. Marinda, the not for profit research institute, recently conducted a survey about how important breakthroughs in since were achieved in the past 300 years. The results of the survey concluded that all major breakthroughs of the past had relied upon most careful of delibarations for 95% of all important breakthroughs and decisions taken into consideration.

It is well-known that delibarations and discussions are quite lengthy. Many times a swift decisions are favored and delibarations are viewed as unnecessary. However, it must not be forgotten that quick discussions often lead to unfavorbale results. Most autocratic states are a testonomy to this thought. Most autocracats involve themselves in unnecesary micromangement, and take imprudent decisions on whim. These decisions pile up with time and lead to collapse of their empires. Recently, an autocratic country of the east collapsed on its own debt that it owed itslef. The country had in order to capitalize on real estate boom, incentivized loans to real estate firms. These firms took several times more loan and did not deliver projects on time. What followed was firms declaring themselves bankrupt followed by banks and then the nation was finally consumed by chaos. What we need to understand is that time spent on discussions and debate is not wasted rather well consumed.

In conclusion, we can say that debate and discussion are key for progressive developments.