It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing an

Social groups are a defined as groups of two or more people who share similar charecteristics, interact with each other and have sense of unity among them. The prompt here proposes that individuals affiliate themselves with social groups in order to establish their identity. Undoubtedly, the thought is justified for the reaoning that is provided as bleow.

To begin with, a child introduces himself with his family name, the level of education he has and which school he attends. Family being the first social group in which a child is born in and school being the secondary social group which a child attends and spends most time after home at during his childhood. Growing up he would introduce himself formally as a student of an institute or as an employee of a firm. Social groups are importnat in this way to introduce ourselves as this establishes trust with the person to whom we are introducing ourselves. If a person was to introduce himself just with his name, it becomes quite uncomfortable to accept him and even harder to trust him. Moreover, we are more inclined to do away with him ratehr than extend conversation with him. On the other hand, if a person introduces himself with his name followed by his profession, and nationality we are more likely to continue a conversation with him.

Secondly, humans are a social animal and feel better when they are able to associate themselves different social groups. Naturally, when humans meet other humans they introduce themselves with these associations, depending on the level of similar associations humans may or may not choose to form bonding with ech other. It is quite noticeable that people of similar profession bond quickly while people from different profession are not inclined to bond as quickly.For instance, say a doctor meets another doctor, or an engineer meets another engineer they are quickly able to get together whereas say a doctor was to meet an engineer or may be a businessman the two might not bond as closely as two doctors would. It can also be said that introduction with association to social group is an attestment of having shared or different experiences.

The opponents of the prompt however claim that human beings are unique and express themselves uniquely with their unique charecteristics. This view however fails to hold into account that charecteristcis are not the starting point of how a person introduces himself. The starting point of an introduction is what my name is and who idetify as. My charecteristics, which esentially are just a reflection of my level of involvement with my social groups, are brought up when a common issue comes up or when someone enquires. Hence, this view fails to hold ground and is rejected.

In conclusion, we can say that association with social gripus is key to expressing our identities.