Claim It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero Reason The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished

Initially, the media was unbiased and would only objectively report the events that were happening around the world to their viewers. Since then media has gradually devolved has devolved into rabble-rouser that wants to just put out stories to grab as many views or clicks as possible. The prompt here confirms this thought and suggests that no man or woman can be proclaimed to be a hero as he or her legacy would ultimately get tarnished by media scrutiny. Undoubtedly, the suggestion of the prompt is completely justified for the reasons that are detailed below paragraphs.

To begin with, media these days is more focused on getting attention to their stories. Since more views and clicks yield higher revenues. It is no longer necessary that news is important or not

or whether it is factually correct or not, it should just be spicy enough to be sold off like hot pancakes. Analyzing the current trends in the media industry the same can be easily corroborated as we find that short and attention grasping stories have increased viewership and dominate viewership whereas detailed and factual reports or thorough debates on important issues are seeing a decline in viewership and are also being phased out in favor of this format of news. Media institutions might just start making spicy stories about famous personalities to mint a few extra bucks. Although, the accuracy of such stories is another concern it matters less to the media institutions as they can later just put out a 10-second video apologizing for airing a fake story. However, permanent damage would have been done by then to the legacy of a once unknown personality.

Secondly, gone are the days when media used to be unbiased. Media by its nature covers multiple issues and various aspects of our life from trade and finance, politics to entertainment. Media institutions have aligned themselves with different entities in these sectors. It is not unheard of to find that certain reporters are receiving a payout from corporates, media personalities, and politicians. This has made the media very unbiased and they are now also insidiously promoting hidden agendas of these corporates, media personalities, and politicians. At times, when it seems favorable these very people easily push media to tarnish the legacy of people who once were considered a hero of the society for political mileage, business benefit, or to weed out the competition in the film industry as no one would hire an actor who is charged with allegations. For instance, the watergate scandal was one of the most prominent examples that show us how the can media manufacture thin lies out of the air to tarnish the image of a politician. In the watergate scandal Boris Johnsson, a war veteran who went on to become the British prime minister with the cleanest record free of any corruption charges was falsely accused in a media trial of providing contracts to the watergate construction firm without any due process and accepting bribes from them. The British prime minister had to step down and the labor party came into power. However, later on, after an investigation by government agencies, Boris Jhonson was vindicated.

In conclusion, we can say that because of our digital lives a lot of power rests in the hands of the media in shaping our opinions, and it would not shy away from tarnishing anyone's reputation for profits be it god himself.