Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and suppor

Selecting a field of study as career is a very tough decision that has far reaching effects om the career of an individual. The prompt proposes that educational institutions should discourage students from taking up fields of study in which the instutions asses the students might not succed. Undoubtedly, such a policy is justified, as it is only a logical extension of the roles that educational institutions take up. Not only implementing such a policy would help children save their precious time and money that they other wise spend on their costly education only to drop out it later, but would also help students to get in fields of study in which they are more likely to succed in. Although, it is questionable how effective an institution might be at judging success of an candidate for a potetial career, such claims appear weak when we consider that educational institutions have better insights about children and they can judge them better then students hemselves on various aspects like pyschology, academic performance and aptitude.

Education is a very costly affair and the years in which a person pursues education are also very important as this time is bound to not come back. So, it is preferrable to select a career path carefully after judging own capabilities carefully. Taking a career path after taking counsel from an educational counsellor would help students in avoiding potentially bad academic careers and take up careers in which they are more likely to suceed.As a result, this saves a lot of children from dropping of from educational courses later, as many children take up courses in which either are not able to perform well or they loose interest in it as it is quite easy for them. Not only educational institutions save students from potential trauma but also helps them save money and time that they would spend on courses from which they would drop of later. It is estimated by Federal Education Board that among students that drop of from courses later a whopping eighty percent blamed bad career decisions that were taken earlier in thier career as the reason for dropping-off later.

The capacity of educational institutions as an appropriate judge for judging career paths for students is frequently questioned. However, this claim falls apart when understand the various factors involved in student counselling. To begin with, chidren are naive and inexperienced in judging their potential and are always prone to either underestimate or overestimate their capabilities. Moreover, educational institutions with thier vast experince in dealing with children everyday on a large scale a much more suitable candidate to suggest careers for them. As expected, these institutions can leverage their experiene to judge candidates on several factors like student pyschology, aptitude, character, and academic performance to help them avoid fields of study that might lead too failure in career later. In a recent survey conducted by Minda(a reseacrh institute ) it was found that students who took up career paths on their own whim had a meager two percent chance of success in the choosen career. On the other hand, students who had taken career paths after taking consultation with their educational institutions had a wopping ninety five percent career success rate.

In conclusion we can say that, choosing fields of study is a very significant career decision and educational institutes should play an active role in it by warning students from potentially dangerous career paths.