Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

The prompt reccomends that the government should step in to provide tution aid to students who are able to secure admissions in universities but are incapable of paying their tution. Undoubtedly, this point of view is completely justified as providing equitable acess to healthcare and education is a must for any government . Definetly making college tution affordable to a large section of society is a moral responsibility of any goverment and such initiatives are complemented with several indirect benefits of such as high HDI(Human Development Index) and low crime rates. Though the cost of such an initiative is questionable but the boost to economy from a larger highly educated workforce cannot be neglected.

Equitable access to higher education is not only a key indicator of progress for any country but also a moral responsibility of any progressive nation. Providing aid to students who secure admission to universities ensures that a large section of public has access to Higher Education. This directly translates to a larger highly qualified workforce that goes on to provide a strong boost to the economy by adding to the numbers of qualified professionals, different economic sectors of the economy can increase their operations and carter to a larger customer base which increases their revenue in turn. Singapore made its bet on education in 1950s when it got its independence, since then Singapore has seen an unprecdented 12 % year on year growth till 2017 . The country that was once a union of fishing villages and a few cities now provides logistics and financial services globaly.

Apart from Monetary benefits, there are several indirect benefits of having a highly educated population. A highly educated population finds it easy to secure lucrative white-collar jobs. Hence, the crime rate from atleast organized crime drops severly as less people are now incentivized to join organised gangs. Additionally, it is easy for people with higher education to understand various complex goverment policies like banking reforms, and Tax bills which remains esoteric for most other people who did not pursue a higher education. Consequently, these people can choose to accept or reject such complex policies with vehement protests .This not only limits the powers of the political elite, it also in essence safegaurds the spirit of democracy. Taking the example of Sweden and Gwenda(a country in the east) we can see that Sweden is leaps and Bounds ahead on all human development, freedom of expression, public safety and wealth equality indicators. While most Swedes have completed some form of higher education most natives of Gwenda have barely completed school. Most natives in Gwenda take up traditional jobs or turn to organised crime whereas Swedes are mostly employed in well-paying jobs. Additionally, as the population is not well educated the political elite of the Gwenda is able to easily pass laws and bills that favor it by using confusing and complex technical jagron which most people of the country are unable to comprehend. A poorly educated population makes the perfect subject for any repressive regime.

In conclusion we can say that providing aid to complete university education is vital for any nation as it has benefits beyond monetary matters.