Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing a

Science by its very nature is empirical. The definition of science tells us that science is a field where knowledge is derived by making observations after experiments. The prompt here recommends that governments should holdback from funding scientific research whose results cannot be assed in advance. Undoubtedly, the recommendation is unjustified as it ignores the experiment driven nature of science where results from experiments are laways unpredicatble. Apart from this fundamental problem if such policies were proposed several problems would come up which are as discussed below.

To begin with, the most immediate effect would be that private players would step up to fund research as government moves out. Naturally, in an enviroment where research is driven by profits several key technologies like alternate energy and recycling techniques would get left out as their research is quite risky and costly and would not make business sense. Eventually, we would have a situation we would have best of high tech gadgets in our hands but would struggle to solve our basic problems. This might sound a little far-fetched but just look at your smartphone for instance, mobile phone tech and semiconductor industry has grown leaps and bounds over decades because of the strong demand from market. Today you have a handheld device which would have been considered a supercomputer just a few decades ago. While, we still struggle to find solutions to problems like lack of public transport and growing emergy demands. It is said that about 10 trillion dollars was invested in private capital for reasearch in electronics had even a fraction of it been diverted to alternative energy research we would have been enjoying the fruits of unlimited fusion energy.

Next, as funding is stopped by government for scientific research of many labs. The worst hit would be labs that are working on breakthrough technologies. As, they are working on tech whose results could not be assesed well in advance they would see a complete cut-off of funding and would cease operations. Finally, as breakthrough research is limited, the nation would fallback in scientific research and technology when compared to other nations. This would in turn make nation dependent on other nations for technological support. In, US itself as funding for advanced technological research is being curtailed due to massive protests from citizens who see advanced tech research as unnecesary and threatening, we are seeing that US dependence on coutries like China is increasing and this may eventually lead to a situation where US becomes completely dependent on China for technnological assistance.

The proponents of the recommendation that push for the policy chnage proclaim that funding scientific research whose results cannot be anticipated in advance could prove catastrophic later. They point towards incidents like a massive nuclear fallout, hazardous chemical leaks, and dangerous viruses escaping to cause epidemics. This view however is too extreme as most scientific research is conducted in designated zones with seperate conatinment areas, and personnel conducting research stick to safety protocols rigorously. The same is evident from history , if we lok back at the last 100 years of scientific research it is hard to find a single incident that may have caused widespread disruption, while during the same time many potentially dangerous research in fields like nuclear energy, and virology have grown leaps and bounds.

In conclusion, we can say that holding back funding for scientific research just because its results are unpredicatble is not well-thought out and a revision of the thought is suggested.