The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them not by their contemporaries

The cliché presents progeny with the opportunity to contemplate on the cardinality of their ancestors rather than ancestors themselves. Men of the same age are incapable of deciding on the greatness of their peers because they are limited to predicting after-effects of works only, whereas progeny are only able to determine the true nature of effects of their ancestors' works by experiencing them. Additionally, posterity is free from the then existing bias against the works of potentially great men and is unassociated from the norms of the previous times, essentially providing an unbiased review of the works of great men. As is often concomitant to great works, they overshadow the sins of the men who stand behind them and captivate the people of that time in awe. However, progeny is not enthralled in the works of these men and can evaluate a person as a whole both on his breakthroughs and bad deeds, to decide on his greatness as a whole.

As is usual with potentially great people, they break the norm with their works. Consequently, which shocks the then time society and contemporaries into rethinking its existing notions, something they are usually not fond of, leading to oftentimes straight-up rejection or mocking. It is only with how these works affect societies they begin accepting or rejecting them. On the other hand, progeny is free of all such pre-existing notions and is already enjoying or regretting the works of great or not so great men, making them much more deserved to decide on the greatness of men born before them. Ramanujan was a great mathematician born in colonial India. His works in the field of mathematics were not given much regard by the then society; it is only 80 years after his death his contributions are being valued as they help understand the most complex mysteries of the universe.

The contemporaries in a domain are biased towards their own goals and have no liking in recognizing others no matter the significance of their works. Moreover, they see their peers as potential threats and anybody that dares to enter their circles as a parvenu. Hence, contemporaries are not the right people to be the judge of others achievements as their most bound to undermine and deny them their much-deserved recognition. It was in the financial meltdown of the 1960s when John Macaulay was mocked by his peers for buying majority stakes in an ailing oil business, despite having a great record as a businessman. It was not until ten years later when he had turned the tables that he was accepted as a great visionary. Therefore, we can infer that contemporaries are more likely to undermine their peers achievements, whereas progeny free from protecting their status as stakeholders in a field can fairly assess someone as great.

Interestingly, contemporaries do provide an immediate critical perspective even though jaundiced. We find that this critical perception of the then works is largely neglected if the works produce better results in the short term. Progeny on the other hand is not swayed by the works and is already experiencing their effects, making them the definite party to criticize or appreciate such works. In the 1960s, many preferred the new radiation-assisted hair removal and the voices of critics regarding potential health dangers went unheard. Eventually, several individuals who took such procedures went on to develop cancers. Initially, deemed a breakthrough however turned out to be a public health issue.

In conclusion, it can be said that all major works of men are a Pandora’s Box and their true effect on society can only be truly judged with time to come. Further, determining the greatness of men associated with such works should rest with progeny, not with the contemporaries of the then time.