23 Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development

The prompt recommends that governments should place minimal restrictions on scientific research and development. Undoubtedly, scientific reasearch and development should be minimally restricted to ensure accelarated advancement of technology as scientific progress and technological marvel touches all aspects of life equally. Technological advancement provides several key technologies in various significant domains such as infrastructure, energy and power, weapons ,and agriculture. The technologies that are developed help in securing an economic advantage for the industry of a nation.

Scientific research and development involves an empirical approach in which various experiments are to be conducted to reach satisfactory results. Additionally, acquiring permits and clearances further slows down the place of scientific research and development as a whole. Hence, for speedy research and development, an enviroment where minimal restrictions exist becomes a necessity. This is evident from the speed with which private companies are able to do research and development while government agencies take decades. Private companies are able to do so by offshoring their reasearch and development to countries which are least restrictive whereas government departments remain stuck in the web of getting compilances and permits for further reasearch . Taking the example of missile development MBDA had to outsource its R&D to United States as they were unable to get permits for cruise missile development in France and they also could not find test ranges in France. By outsourcing R&D to the United States where there are plenty of test ranges and permits come in easy they were able to develop their cruise missile quickly in just 18 months from protoptyping to first production model. This helped them secure the tender while their competitors in France were still then finding it hard to get their designs off the drawing board.

Technological development is mostly aimed at increasing or improving current processes of industrial production. When minimal restrictions exist on development of technology industries of a country are able to quickly develop monoply in global markets as their production costs drive down and they are able to mass produce very cost effectively. In Europe, Denmark has a eighty percent market share in agriculture industry. Today Denmark four times as many agricultural produce per hectare for the same intial cost as any other country could, this gives them a competitive edge which allows them to undercut any competition in agriculture markets. Denmark attributes to the relaxation in rules for agricultural R&D it introduced five decades ago.

Even though their are many advantages of having minimal restrictions on scientific reasearch. It is often argued that

there is always a risk of catastrophe say a experiment goes wrong. There is a possibility that a GMO crop may be accidentally introduced that kills of rest of the crops and also makes the land barren, genetic experimentation on humans is always seen as a dream of a mad scientist, and the fear of AI taking over is now even more present. What this view however fails to account for is that most scientific research takes place in isolation away from general public and the scale of research is usually very small when compared to scale of mass production, there are ususally only a few hundred subjects in research while scales of production go in millions. Moreover, scientific research is always carried out by scientists and the scientific community has always proved to be moraly and ethically repsonsible. Even corporations that are hungry for profits maintain high safety standards in R&D as the fallout from one gone wrong experiment is enough to bring down any big corporation. If an expirement goes wrong then corporations are forced to take responsibility and pay compensation.

In conclusion we can say that for the advancement of any nation it is of key importance to ensure that scientific research and development stays minimally restricted.