Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could

Scandals happen when people who are able to leverage the flaws of the system to their benefit get caught. Naturally, as scandals involve big names getting caught, people get interested in them because they either were holding them as ideal or were hostile towards their personality. On the other hand side, when a speaker or reformer brings up these same issues we remain indifferent to them as we cannot relate to these issues in any way. The prompt here points out that this irony and asserts that scandals are far more effective in bringing our focus to problems than any speaker or reformer. Undoubtedly, the prompt is completely justified in its assertion for the reasons that are as detailed below.

To begin with, people in general have an array of problems for themsleves making them very disinclined to pay heed to issues that may be prevailing in politics, academia or other area. However, when a sacndal comes out it is not viewed as a problem by these very same people, rather it becomes a moot point for them and sense of joy in how a person with big name was caught. Since, scandals make people talk more about these issues goverment machinery is now pressurised to step in and take strong action not against the people caught but also forced to

fix the inherent flaw of the system to disallow any such scandal from taking place again. For instance, as early as in 1960s, many prominient enviromentalists were warining people about the dangers of nuclear power. People being people as expected did not pay nay heed to their concerns. However, it took only one chernobyl to arouse the insterest of people around the world regarding the imminent danger of nuclear power generation. What followed was several protests around the world against nuclear tech and many goverments were forced to dismantle their nuclear power plants and look for other sources of energy. This particular instance illustartes how quickly and effectively the machinery can be brought into action by public which otherwise would remain indifferent to these very same issues, once a sacndal comes out.

Secondly, media is very rating and viewership oriented these days as more viewership equates to more revenue. Naturally, they prefer spicy stories that could get them more views quickly rather than pursuing investigative journalism that covers important issues that are usually touted by reformers and other speakers. Hence, either media fails to bring up these issues entirley or are presented in very short segmnets on TV or as footnotes in news papers. For instance, the issue of presence of harmful chemicals in baby products was being raised continously by several child healthcare specialists were raising these concerns but media did not find these stories worthy of viewership and hence did not promote them. As a result, this issue remained hidden from public eye from long. However, when the Jhonson baby scandal happened and swedish regulators found that these baby prducts were having many harmful chemicals in them the issue was brought in public eye by the media. This clearly illustrates how important is the role of media in bringing issues to public eye and how scandals make media more inclined to report certain issues which otherwise would have been ignored by it.

In conclusion, that people are usually more involved in their lives to pay attention to issues that do not concern them, and media is also disinclined to bring these issues forth unless there is a scandal.Thus, it can be said that the scandals are definitely more effective at not only bringing our attention towards problems but also forcing goverments to solve them, that speakers and reformers never could.