Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

In a democratic society, there are several ways to reveal problems to the public and evoke the following reforms of the problems. Therefore, I do believe there are more much better ways to deal with public issues than using scandals, which normally cause more harm than benefit. However, I will discuss further and illustrate to what extent, scandals may play a relatively positive role.

First, the qualities of scandals matter, which means the essentiality and reality of information revealed from the scandals do affect the function of scandals. For example, if a true fact about one scandal relating to certain governor’s bribe during the election period is released, then the function of this scandal is positive, since it made the illegal behaviors known and help the public to make a better judgement of the candidate. On the other hand, if the scandal about the same bribe is untrue, then the harm to the governor can be created, since he/she will suffer from the negative image. Hence, scandals have two-sides effects, and the positive side only happens when the scandal speaks of the truth.

Second, scandals tend to bring lots of attention because of the way it presents usually including dramas that are eye-catching. Thus, scandals may elicit following investigations. For instance, US president Donald Trump was accused for his illegal collaboration with Russian government to win the presidential election. Further investigations were conducted and also led to a vote to suspend Donald Trump’s presidential position. Though the result is that Donald Trump is not guilty, numerous resources have already been put into the investigation as well as the vote arrangement, which may be a waste of public resources. Therefore, it is beneficial that the scandals do lead public attention to certain critical problems, but it may also create waste of public resources if the scandal is untrue.

In conclusion, I argue that the positive effects, leading public attention to critical problems, which scandals bring is only valid when the scandals are true and authentic. Otherwise, the way scandals present tends to create harm and waste of public resources. Hence, I do believe there are other ways in democratic society playing better role in waking people’s attention to important issues, such as open discussion and regular votes to replace inappropriate governors.