The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is recommended from the memo that the Bargain Brand breakfast cereal should expand into other low-priced food to gain competitive advantage from other food companies. However, the suggestion is made from dubious assumptions and does require further examination of other types of information.

First of all, it is pointed out from the memo that the core advantage of Bargain Brand breakfast cereal lies in the low price and most of the new-gained customers are appealed by their low price compared to other cereal brands. However, the price sensitive buying behavior in cereal markets doesn’t mean that other food markets are also dominated by price-sensitive customers. For example, customers of daily soup may care about the taste more than pure price. What I would like to emphasize is that the low price logic can’t be directly applied in other food markets that are still unknown. It is highly possible that other food markets may value food brands, qualities or even nutritions more than price. If that’s the case, the direct application of low price strategy will damage the company’s profit rather than bringing more business. Therefore, more research on other food markets is necessary before claiming a low price strategy to be effective.

Secondly, the memo also stated that competitors who leverage the low-price strategy don’t affect the profitability of Bargain Brand breakfast and assume that the company can survive in other food markets. However, this assumption is problematic in a way that none of the information of competitors in other food markets are being provided. Therefore, it is premature to claim that the company itself will win the price battle when competitors may adopt a totally different competition, such as raise their brand images, or increase the product qualities or even start the membership etc. The major fallacy is that the board of directors wrongly assume that different food markets are similar while the truth is that there may be more diversity than similarity. Hence, the understanding of other food markets as well as the relevant competitors are imperative to evaluate the efficacy of the low-price recommendation.

Last, the low-price cereal was introduced one year ago, and it also requires further examination to understand whether the same success will continue or not. In other words, the board of directors’ assumption that one year's success will last forever can be challenged as well, which indicates the importance of tracking the following development. Only when the success does last, can we finally claim that the low-price strategies are valid in the cereal market and explore the potential markets that are suitable to apply the same strategy.

In conclusion, premature assumptions of same buying behaviors, similar market dynamics, as well as the overconfidence in one year’s success make the recommendation specious.